Home » Features » ICD-10

What is ICD-10?

The ICD-9 codes used to report medical diagnoses will be replaced by the ICD-10 codes for services provided on or after October 1, 2015. The transition to ICD-10 is required for everyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA), including optometrists, ophthalmologists, and opticians.

Changing to ICD-10

Medicine and knowledge of medical conditions and diseases has advanced, so the codes used to identify them need to be updated in order to stay relevant.

  • ICD-9 is thirty years old and has outdated and now obsolete terms.
  • The structure of ICD-9 limits the number of new codes that can be created.


ICD-10 provides more detailed and specific diagnoses that will aid providers in accurately documenting a patient's condition. The goals of ICD-10 transition are:

  1. Streamline billing processes for increased efficiency.
  2. Accommodate innovation in technology and treatment.
  3. Allow for more precise methods of detecting fraud.
  4. Better analysis of disease patterns and treatment outcomes.


Insurance claims will be rejected for claims with a service date of October 1, 2015 or later that do not have
ICD-10 codes.


The My Vision Express practice management and electronic health records (EHR) software provides multiple features and resources to help your practice streamline your insurance claims management, such as:

  • Our Injury Builder tool, an industry first.
  • ICD-10 ready insurance clearinghouse interfaces.
  • Automated ICD-10 coding.
  • Easily switch from the ICD-9 code set-up to ICD-10 with the click of a mouse.
  • Preloaded optometric, ophthalmic, and optical ICD-10 codes (with the ability to import all ICD-10 codes if desired).
  • Pre-mapped ICD-10 and SNOMED codes.
  • Comprehensive Training and Support